WOCN Credentials and Certification

Hover here, then click toolbar to edit content
Module Border   Module Border

WOCN Credentials & Certification


The Wound, Ostomy, Continence Nursing Certification Board (WOCNCB) offers the following credentials in the specialty of WOC Nursing: CWOCN®, CWCN®, COCN®, CCCN®, and CWONTM. To earn these credentials, the WOCNCB offers a certification exam for each specialty scope (wounds, ostomies, continence). webWOC learners are eligible for the national certification exams by presenting a certificate of completion from the webWOC Nursing Education Program at the time of registration for the national exam(s). webWOC will issue a certificate of completion to learners after successful completion of the didactic coursework and clinical practicum of each scope of practice.


The credentials offered by the WOCNCB are the only wound, ostomy, continence care credentials that require 240 hours of didactic education, demonstration of specific clinical competencies within over 100 hours of clinical practicum, and a national certification exam every five years. You can be sure that a nurse with WOCNCB credentials has an extensive knowledge-base in WOC nursing. To learn more about the differences between various WOC credentials, review the WOCNCB Comparison of Certification Programs.


Are you Ready for Certification?


Module Border   Module Border
Visit Metropolitan State University Web Site Visit webWOCnurse.com Homepage